#20 – Complaining?

Rejoice in the Lord always. I will say it again: Rejoice!(A) Let your gentleness be evident to all. The Lord is near.(B) Do not be anxious about anything,(C) but in every situation, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God.(D)And the peace of God,(E) which transcends all understanding,(F) will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.

God has given me a fantastic opportunity to be in ministry. I love it. It has been fantastic. I prayed so much for this chance and, now that I have it, I am so thankful. As I have gotten into ministry, I have noticed something that disturbs me greatly:

Some pastors I run into are just unhappy.

You talk to them and they talk about ministry like it is a huge burden that they do not happily carry. I do this sometimes to. It scares me. It convicts me. It makes me feel like I am missing the point. Today, I want to take a minute to talk not only to pastors but to anyone who is not finding joy in their life.

First of all to pastors. You have the best job ever. People do your job as volunteers and pray to God that they church would have enough money to hire them so that they can quit their other job. Be thankful. Rejoice in your position and be thankful.

Now to a broader topic: Rejoice! It is funny how we treat the Bible. The commandments that make life harder are viewed as more serious than the ones that make it easier. The admonition to avoid lying to get ahead is a big deal. if you lie, you are doing something wrong. I don’t know any Christians who will openly talk about how much of a liar they are. However, the Bible also tells you not to worry (Phil 4:4-7). I know plenty of Christians who wear their worry like a badge of honor. It is sin. I know this is difficult because it is hard for me and I don’t even have kids or a lot that can really go wrong in my life.

This type of thinking brings us back to God’s purposes. God didn’t write the Bible to make things hard. All of the commands of God are there to help us live the best life possible. Lying is the same as worrying in God’s eyes because both take away from the life he wants for you.

Today I want to encourage you to rejoice in the Lord and not worry. To do otherwise is sin. 🙂

Addison

Leave a Reply

